5 Reasons to Read (Non-fiction)


I like to read.  I really like to read.  I really like to read non-fiction.  Granted there are many people in this world who are more excellent readers and read quite a lot more than I do on a regular basis (I try to average 1 book every other week).  So when I was asked why I read so  much I was kind of shocked (I’ve heard of people who will read a book a day).  First that someone would not know of good reasons to read and second that they thought I read a lot of books (truthfully I consider myself  a slow reader).  So I decided I would post a few reasons to read non-fiction.  These are just a few of the many benefits of reading.
http://www.flickr.com/photos/austinevan/1225274637/

1.  Reading engages the mind of a person in thought in ways that other types of media do not.  Reading is a long conversation with the author of the book.  Thoughts, ideas, illustrations, and stories are all presented in such a way as to provoke the reader to profound thought on a variety of subjects from the simplicity of beauty to the depth of our understanding of physics.

2. Reading provides clarity. Writing is the most referenced form of communication.  What is written can easily be referenced and referred back to.  Readers can highlight and underline passages.  Words can be looked up and examined.  Troubling thoughts find themselves explained in the context of the larger work.

3. Reading is reader paced. Not everyone reads at the same pace.  Those who read and comprehend faster can enjoy gaining information at their own personal pace.  Likewise slower readers are not hurried through material.

4. Reading is an act of humility. When one submits to read a non-fiction book for the sake of gaining information on a project or concept the reader is admitting that he/she can gain from the insight of others.  This is an act of humility.

5. Reading is prudent. You can read anywhere.  Reading is a good use of time when waiting in line or for a lunch appointment to show up.  Before the great inventions of Tivo and DVR much of my reading was done while the compercials were showing.

Are you a reader?

Why do you read or not read?

What books have had the most profound influence on your life? (I’ll share my top 5 in the next post)

5 thoughts on “5 Reasons to Read (Non-fiction)

  1. While I am primarily a reader of fiction (I own and write a noveling blog after all) I agree with you completely on reading. When I have children my only goal education wise is getting them to be able to read. If you can read, and well, you can learn everything else. Reading isn’t just for basic communication. It gives you access to every thought every person has ever had from the beginning of written time.

    Aside from the bible, my favorite non-fiction is a book called “Jesus in Blue Jeans”. It’s very hard to find, but worth reading.

    Like

  2. I used to hate to read. When I started college, I had to get past that and learn to enjoy reading. Since then, I have read a few books, most all of which are non-fiction. I try to balance my reading list to a mixture (now that I can choose my books as opposed to my professors) of different genres. I read theology, church growth/challenges, and ministry leadership books 2 to 1 over other stuff. This keeps me sharp at my task. I also love military history, American history, biographies, and business leadership books. I encourage everyone to read (as I was encouraged to do) at least 15 minutes a day (apart from your bible study). It will change you in more ways than you can imagine.

    Like

  3. Reading also lets you “pause” the situation and do more research on things you are reading about. It has helped impress the lesson on me that you must read comparatively and evaluate thoughts and ideas. It gives you knowledge and that is the one thing that cannot be taken from you in this world, what you learn.

    Like

  4. Pingback: Why You Are In A Bad Place (And How To Get Out Of It) - b. alan ross

Leave a Reply

